Listed as a historical monument, the Château de Fargues is a model of military architecture from the end of the Middle Ages, but above all a moving witness to the family history of the Lur Saluces.
Built in 1306 by the Cardinal Raymond Guilhem de Fargues, the castle entered the Lur Saluces family in 1472. Its location overlooking the Garonne valley and its solid walls testify to the power of this ancient barony, where the inhabitants of the city of Langon took refuge during the Wars of Religion and the Fronde period.
Originally, the fortress was surrounded by dwellings, cellars and gardens. Around the fortress, the daily work was spread out between the breeding and the exploitation of the forests. Already, mixed farming was a specificity of the area. The work of the vine, a minority in Fargues, was then an activity among others and the wine a daily drink, without commercial ambition.
Suite à un terrible incendie, en 1687, la famille est contrainte de s’exiler. Le domaine de Fargues est alors oublié et la végétation gagne les ruines, jusqu’à ce qu’Alexandre de Lur Saluces entreprenne, en 1968, de lui redonner sa majesté ancestrale.
Today, the fortress is an extraordinary place to experience and discover